Assyria Timeline

Search Results

Visual Timeline

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.


1900 BCE 1800 BCE 1700 BCE 1600 BCE 1500 BCE 1400 BCE 1300 BCE 1200 BCE 1100 BCE 1000 BCE 900 BCE 800 BCE 700 BCE  
1900 BCE: Ashur, capial of Assyria, is founded.
1813 BCE - 1791 BCE: Reign of Shamashi Adad I who drives out Amorites, secures border of Assyria, makes Ashur capital.
1680 BCE: Hurrians occupy Assyria.
1472 BCE: Mittani annexes Assyria.
1400 BCE: Assyria regains its independence.
1353 BCE - 1318 BCE: Reign of Ashur-Uballit I who conquers the Hittites and expands Assyria's territory.
1353 BCE - 1318 BCE: King Ashur-Ubalit I frees Assyria from Mitanni rule.
1307 BCE - 1275 BCE: Reign of Adad Nirari I, King of Assyria.
1250 BCE: Shalmaneser I of Assyria conquers the kingdom of Mitanni and defeats its allies.
1245 BCE: Battle of Nihriya: Tukulti-Ninurta I of Assyria defeats Tudḍalia IV of the Hittites.
1244 BCE - 1208 BCE: Reign of Tukulti-Ninurta I, King of Assyria.
1115 BCE - 1076 BCE: Reign of Tiglath-Pileser I of Assyria who conquers Phoenicia and revitalizes the empire.
884 BCE - 859 BCE: Rule of king Ashurnasirpal II of Assyria who moves capital from Ashur to Kalhu (Caleh).
879 BCE - 627 BCE: Ashur remains an important spiritual center for Assyria, though no longer the capital.
841 BCE: Israel pays tribute to Assyria.
746 BCE: Ashur Nirari V, King of Assyria, deposed in palace coup. Tiglath Pileser III assumes the throne.
745 BCE - 727 BCE: Reign of Tiglath Pileser III, King of Assyria.
729 BCE: Tiglath Pileser III reigns at height as King of Babylon and Assyria.
722 BCE: Israel is conquered by Assyria.
722 BCE - 705 BCE: Reign of Sargon II of Assyria. Capital moved from Kalhu to Dur-Sharrukin.
722 BCE - 705 BCE: Reign of King Sargon II of Assyria.
722 BCE - 705 BCE: Reign of Sargon II of Assyria.
722 BCE - 612 BCE: The Sargonid Dynasty of Assyria.
719 BCE - 717 BCE: Border wars between Assyria and the Kingdom of Urartu.
713 BCE: Zakutu is associated with the crown prince of Assyria Sennacherib.
710 BCE - 707 BCE: Sargon II resides at Babylon, rules Assyria from Babylonian court.
709 BCE: Mita of the Mushki (possibly King Midas) allies with King Sargon II of Assyria.
705 BCE - 681 BCE: Reign of king Sennacherib of Assyria.
701 BCE: King Sennacherib of Assyria sacks the city of Lachish in Judah but fails to take the capital Jerusalem.
676 BCE: Scythians and Mannaens attack Assyria.
671 BCE: Egypt is conquered by Assyria.
669 BCE - 668 BCE: Issuance of the Loyal Treaty of Queen of Assyria Naqia-Zakutu, ensuring the succession of Ashurbanipal as king.
668 BCE - 627 BCE: Reign of Ashurbanipal, King of Assyria, last king of the Neo-Assyrian Empire.
668 BCE - 627 BCE: Reign of Ashurbanipal, the last great king of Assyria.
648 BCE: War between Assyria and the Elamites.
1900 BCE 1700 BCE 1500 BCE 1300 BCE 1100 BCE 900 BCE 700 BCE

Timeline Search

Search through the entire ancient history timeline. Specify between which dates you want to search, and what keywords you are looking for.

Remove Ads