Njals Saga in the Modruvallabok


Emma Groeneveld
by GDK
published on 18 February 2019
Send to Google Classroom:

Folio 13r, showing a page from Njáls saga, from the Möðruvallabók (AM 132), an Icelandic manuscript from c. 1330-1370 CE containing the most significant surviving collection of Sagas of Icelanders. It records some sagas in full or in part that do not survive anywhere else. The following sagas are included, in this order:

Njáls saga
Egils saga
Finnboga saga ramma
Bandamanna saga
Kormáks saga
Víga-Glúms saga
Droplaugarsona saga
Ǫlkofra saga (or Ǫlkofra þáttr)
Hallfreðar saga
Laxdæla saga (with Bolla þáttr)
Fóstbrœðra saga

Remove Ads


Cite This Work

APA Style

GDK, . (2019, February 18). Njals Saga in the Modruvallabok. Ancient History Encyclopedia. Retrieved from https://www.ancient.eu/image/10116/

Chicago Style

GDK, . "Njals Saga in the Modruvallabok." Ancient History Encyclopedia. Last modified February 18, 2019. https://www.ancient.eu/image/10116/.

MLA Style

GDK, . "Njals Saga in the Modruvallabok." Ancient History Encyclopedia. Ancient History Encyclopedia, 18 Feb 2019. Web. 23 Jan 2021.

Remove Ads


Support Us

We are a non-profit organization.

Our mission is to engage people with cultural heritage and to improve history education worldwide. Please support Ancient History Encyclopedia Foundation. Thank you!