7 Wonders of the Ancient World

Fundraiser: Mesopotamia Teaching Materials

Please help us create teaching materials on Mesopotamia (including several complete lessons with worksheets, activities, answers, essay questions, and more), which will be free to download for teachers all over the world.

Donate Now


Kelly Macquire
published on 17 October 2019
Send to Google Classroom:

The seven wonders of the ancient world were:

The Great Pyramid of Giza
The Hanging Gardens of Babylon
The Statue of Zeus at Olympia
The Temple of Artemis at Ephesus
The Mausoleum at Halicarnassus
The Colossus of Rhodes
The Lighthouse of Alexandria.

These seven ancient wonders of the world were known in Greek as Themata or ‘things to be seen’ which is now referred to as ‘must see’ sites. These sites were written about in antiquity by many writers, although only one of these wonders still remains.

If you like our videos, please support us by becoming a member or donating to our non-profit company:

- https://www.ancient.eu/membership/
- https://www.ancient.eu/donate/
- http://www.patreon.com/ahe

Ancient History Encyclopedia

Remove Ads


About the Author

Kelly Macquire
Kelly is a graduate student at Monash, Melbourne Australia, who has recently completed her BA (Honours) in Ancient History and Archaeology, focussing on iconography and status in Pylos burials. She has a passion for mythology and the Aegean Bronze Age.

Cite This Work

APA Style

Macquire, K. (2019, October 17). 7 Wonders of the Ancient World. Ancient History Encyclopedia. Retrieved from https://www.ancient.eu/video/1839/

Chicago Style

Macquire, Kelly. "7 Wonders of the Ancient World." Ancient History Encyclopedia. Last modified October 17, 2019. https://www.ancient.eu/video/1839/.

MLA Style

Macquire, Kelly. "7 Wonders of the Ancient World." Ancient History Encyclopedia. Ancient History Encyclopedia, 17 Oct 2019. Web. 27 Nov 2020.

Remove Ads