Amun Timeline

Search Results

Visual Timeline

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.


2400 BCE 2300 BCE 2200 BCE 2100 BCE 2000 BCE 1900 BCE 1800 BCE 1700 BCE 1600 BCE 1500 BCE 1400 BCE 1300 BCE 1200 BCE 1100 BCE 1000 BCE 900 BCE 800 BCE 700 BCE 600 BCE 500 BCE 400 BCE 300 BCE 200 BCE 100 BCE 0 CE 100 CE 200 CE 300 CE 400 CE  
2400 BCE - 2300 BCE: Amun first mentioned in the Egyptian work known as The Pyramid Texts.
1971 BCE - 1926 BCE: Reign of Senusret I in Egypt who begins construction of Temple of Amun at Karnak.
1570 BCE - 1069 BCE: Amun rises in prominence in Egypt as the most powerful king of the gods during the New Kingdom.
1570 BCE: Ahmose I of Thebes drives the Hyksos from Egypt and unifies the nation under Theban rule, ushering in the New Kingdom of Egypt and attributing his victory to Amun.
1570 BCE - 1069 BCE: Heka is eclipsed by the god Amun during the New Kingdom of Egypt.
1570 BCE - 1069 BCE: The Office of God's Wife of Amun becomes increasingly significant during the New Kingdom of Egypt.
1570 BCE - 1530 BCE: Queen Ahhotep I, mother of Ahmose I, holds the title God's Wife of Amun.
1570 BCE - 1544 BCE: Reign of Ahmose I of Thebes during which his wife Ahmose-Nofretari is God's Wife of Amun.
1479 BCE - 1458 BCE: Pharaoh Hatshepsut passes title of God's Wife of Amun to her daughter after assuming power.
1386 BCE - 1295 BCE: No mention of God's Wife of Amun during the reigns of Amenhotep III, Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and Horemheb.
1353 BCE: Amenhotep IV changes his name to Akhenaten, establishes the monotheistic cult of Aten, banishes other cults especially that of Amun.
1336 BCE: Tutankhamun re-establishes the old religion of Egypt after the death of Akhenaten; cult of Amun resumes.
1334 BCE: Tutankhamun moves capital from city of Akhetaten back to Thebes, re-instates Cult of Amun at Thebes.
1255 BCE: Death of Nefertari, God's Wife of Amun and Royal Queen, wife of Ramesses II.
1191 BCE - 1190 BCE: Twosret reigns as pharaoh and holds title of God's Wife of Amun.
1149 BCE - 1145 BCE: Reign of Ramesses V in Egypt, power of priests of Amun on the rise.
1145 BCE - 1137 BCE: Celibacy becomes standard for God's Wife of Amun during the reign of Ramesses VI; his daughter Isis is the first celibate God's Wife.
1107 BCE - 1077 BCE: Reign of Ramesses XI at Per-Ramesses while priests of Amun rule from Thebes, Egypt.
714 BCE - 700 BCE: Amenirdis I, daughter of King Kashta, serves as one of the most powerful God's Wives of Amun in Egypt.
655 BCE - 585 BCE: Nitokris I is among the most powerful God's Wives of Amun in Egypt's history.
595 BCE - 525 BCE: Ankhenesneferibre reigns from Thebes as God's Wife of Amun, effectively ruling Upper Egypt.
525 BCE: Nitokris II last named God's Wife of Amun before Persian Invasion and abolition of the office.
285 BCE: King Ergamenes slaughters the priests of Amun at Napata, breaks with Egypt.
336 CE: Temple of Amun at Karnak closed by Roman Emperor Constantius II.
415 CE: Cult of Amun proscribed by the new religion of Christianity. .
2400 BCE 2000 BCE 1600 BCE 1200 BCE 800 BCE 400 BCE 0 CE

Timeline Search

Search through the entire ancient history timeline. Specify between which dates you want to search, and what keywords you are looking for.

Remove Ads