Sargon II Timeline

Search Results

Visual Timeline

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.


730 BCE 720 BCE 710 BCE  
722 BCE - 705 BCE: Peak of the Assyrian empire under the reign of Sargon II.
722 BCE: Sargon II takes the throne from Shalmaneser V in a coup.
722 BCE - 705 BCE: Reign of King Sargon II of Assyria.
720 BCE: Sargon II's Syrian Campaigns.
719 BCE - 717 BCE: Border wars between Assyria and the Kingdom of Urartu.
718 BCE: Sargon II defeated at Babylon by Elamites.
717 BCE: Sargon II decrees the construction of his new capital city, Dur-Sharrukin.
714 BCE: Sargon II's Urartu Campaign, Urartu defeated.
713 BCE - 710 BCE: Sargon II personally oversees the construction of Dur-Sharrukin.
710 BCE: Sargon II conquers Babylon and the southern territories.
710 BCE - 707 BCE: Sargon II resides at Babylon, rules Assyria from Babylonian court.
706 BCE: Sargon II returns from Babylon and moves into palace in Dur-Sharrukin.
705 BCE: Sargon II killed in battle with the Tabal people.
705 BCE: Sennacherib succeeds Sargon II, moves capital to Nineveh; Dur-Sharrukin is abandoned.
730 BCE 720 BCE 710 BCE

Timeline Search

Search through the entire ancient history timeline. Specify between which dates you want to search, and what keywords you are looking for.

Remove Ads