Hellenistic Warfare Timeline

Search Results

Visual Timeline

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.


340 BCE 330 BCE 320 BCE 310 BCE 300 BCE 290 BCE 280 BCE 270 BCE 260 BCE 250 BCE 240 BCE 230 BCE 220 BCE 210 BCE 200 BCE 190 BCE 180 BCE 170 BCE 160 BCE 150 BCE 140 BCE 130 BCE 120 BCE 110 BCE 100 BCE 90 BCE 80 BCE 70 BCE 60 BCE 50 BCE 40 BCE 30 BCE 20 BCE 10 BCE 0 CE 10 CE 20 CE 30 CE 40 CE 50 CE 60 CE 70 CE 80 CE 90 CE 100 CE 110 CE 120 CE 130 CE 140 CE 150 CE 160 CE 170 CE 180 CE 190 CE 200 CE 210 CE 220 CE 230 CE 240 CE 250 CE 260 CE 270 CE 280 CE 290 CE 300 CE  
334 BCE: Sardis surrenders to Alexander the Great.
323 BCE - 282 BCE: Rule of Ptolemy I Soter.
323 BCE: Death of Alexander the Great.
322 BCE - 275 BCE: The Wars of the Diadochi, also known as the Wars of Alexander's Successors.
322 BCE: Demetrius I flees Phrygia with his father Antigonus I.
321 BCE - 315 BCE: Seleucos rules the satrapy of Babylon.
319 BCE: Death of Antipater, regent of Macedon.
317 BCE: Demetrius I commands his father’s cavalry units at the battles of Paraetacene and Gabiene in Persia.
316 BCE: Satrap of Persis Peucestas is defeated at the Gabiene Battle, alongside of Eumenes. Evagros is appointed in Persis by Antigonus Monopthalmus.
316 BCE: Thessalonica is founded by Cassander.
314 BCE: Antigonus establishes the League of Islanders which includes Delos.
312 BCE: Seleucos conquers Babylon and founds the Seleucid dynasty.
312 BCE: Evagros is killed in battle by Seleucos I. Persis comes under Seleucid rule.
312 BCE: Demetrius I loses the Battle of Giza against Ptolemy I and Seleucus I Nikator.
309 BCE - 308 BCE: Agathocles of Syracuse successfuly campaigns in North Africa defeating Carthaginian armies and taking Utica and Hippacra.
309 BCE: Lysimachus founds the city of Lysimachia to secure the Dardanelles.
306 BCE: Demetrius I defeats Ptolemy’s fleet at Salamis, off the coast of Cyprus.
305 BCE: Emperor Changragupta signs a treaty with Seleucos I, establishing borders and giving the Punjab to Chandragupta in return for 500 war elephants.
305 BCE - 297 BCE: Cassander is self-proclaimed king of Macedon.
301 BCE: The Battle of Ipsus in central Phrygia where Lysimachus and Seleucus I defeat Antigonus I and Demetrius I.
295 BCE: Seleucos I makes an alliance with local Persis dynast, Ardaxsir, becoming the first frataraka of Persis.
295 BCE: Demetrius I campaigns in central Greece, removes the tyrant Lachares from Athens and defeats Sparta.
294 BCE - 288 BCE: Demetrius I rules as king of Macedon.
292 BCE: Lysimachus is captured by Dromichaites, the king of Getae and forced to surrender Trans-Danubian territories.
288 BCE: Pyrrhus of Epirus becomes ruler of Macedon.
288 BCE: When his army deserts him Demetrius I flees Macedon.
285 BCE: Demetrius I surrenders to Seleucus I and lives as a prsioner for three years until his death.
284 BCE: Lysimachus drives Pyrrhus out of Macedon.
281 BCE: Lysimachus is defeated by Seleucus I at Corupedium.
280 BCE - 275 BCE: King Pyrrhus of Epirus wages the Pyrrhic War against the Romans in Italy, defence of Tarentum being the pretext.
273 BCE: Pyrrhus of Epirus attacks Macedon and Sparta.
272 BCE: Death of Pyrrhus of Epirus in a street battle in Argos.
241 BCE - 197 BCE: Reign of Attalus I at Pergamon.
222 BCE: The Achaean League and Antigonos III of Macedon defeat Sparta at Sellasia.
305 CE: Ptolemy takes over Side.
340 BCE 260 BCE 180 BCE 100 BCE 20 BCE 60 CE 140 CE 220 CE

Timeline Search

Search through the entire ancient history timeline. Specify between which dates you want to search, and what keywords you are looking for.

Remove Ads