Esarhaddon Timeline

Search Results

Visual Timeline

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.


690 BCE 680 BCE 670 BCE  
685 BCE: Ashurbanipal is born to King Esarhaddon and Queen Ashur-Hamat.
683 BCE: Sennacherib chooses Zakutu's son, Esarhaddon, as his successor.
681 BCE - 669 BCE: Reign of King Esarhaddon, ascent of Zakutu as Queen Regent.
681 BCE - 669 BCE: Reign of Sennacherib's son, Esarhaddon, who continues building projects.
681 BCE - 669 BCE: Reign of Esarhaddon who expands the empire.
681 BCE - 669 BCE: Reign of Esarhaddon of Neo-Assyrian Empire, who regularly invokes Ninurta.
680 BCE: Esarhaddon decrees restoration of Babylon.
676 BCE: Esarhaddon defeats the Cimmerians.
673 BCE: Esarhaddon defeats Urartu, secures borders of his empire.
673 BCE: First Egyptian Campaign, Assyrians are defeated and retreat.
671 BCE: Memphis destroyed by Assyrian king Esarhaddon.
671 BCE: Assyrian king Esarhaddon sacks Thebes but leaves Karnak alone.
671 BCE - 670 BCE: Assyrian invasion of Egypt under Esarhaddon.
671 BCE: Second Egyptian Campaign, Assyrian army successfully captures Memphis and conquers Egypt.
670 BCE: Esarhaddon chooses his son Ashurbanipal as heir to the throne.
669 BCE: Esarhaddon dies en route to Egypt to fortify his rule there.
690 BCE 680 BCE

Timeline Search

Search through the entire ancient history timeline. Specify between which dates you want to search, and what keywords you are looking for.

Remove Ads