Ancient History Encyclopedia has a new name!

We are now World History Encyclopedia to better reflect the breadth of our non-profit organization's mission. Learn More

Despotate of the Morea Timeline

Search Results

  • 1259
    Battle of Pelagonia: Manfred of Sicily and William II of Villehardouin are defeated by the Empire of Nicaea. William is forced to cede the castles of Mystras, Maina, and Monemvasia.
  • 1262
    Mystras is retaken by the Byzantines.
  • c. 1289
    The Byzantines move the provincial capital of the Morea from Monemvasia to Mystras.
  • 1349 - 1380
    Manuel Kantakouzenos is the first despot of the Morea.
  • 1361
    Matthew Kantakouzenos moves to Mystras.
  • 1380 - 1383
    Matthew Kantakouzenos rules as despot of the Morea.
  • 1383 - c. 1384
    Rebellion of Demetrios Kantakouzenos against the Palaiologos Dynasty in the Morea.
  • 1383 - 1407
    Theodore I Palaiologos reigns as despot of the Morea.
  • 1388 - 1394
    The Despotate of the Morea takes Argos from the Venetians but ultimately has to return it.
  • 1395
    Carlo I Tocco cedes Cornith to the Byzantines.
  • 1396
    First Ottoman raid of the Morea.
  • 1400 - 1404
    Corinth is given by the Byzantines to the Knights Hospitaller, but the city is ultimately returned to the Byzantines.
  • 1407 - 1443
    Rule of Theodore II Palaiologos, despot of the Morea.
  • 1408
    Visit of Manuel II Palaiologos, Byzantine emperor, to Mystras.
  • 1415
    Visit of Byzantine emperor Manuel II Palaiologos to Mystras.
  • 1415
    Rebuilding of the Hexamilion Wall along the Isthmus of Corinth by the Byzantines.
  • 1423
    Ottoman raid into the Morea.
  • 1426
    The Byzantines decisively defeat Carlo I Tocco off the coast from Clarentza.
  • 1429
    Constantine Palaiologos takes the city of Patras.
  • 1431
    Ottoman raid into the Morea.
  • 1432
    The Principality of Achaea is completely subsumed by the Byzantines.
  • 1443 - 1449
    Constantine Palaiologos rules as despot of the Morea.
  • 1444
    The Byzantines briefly capture Athens and Thebes.
  • 1446
    The Ottomans breach the Hexamilion Wall and raid deep into the Morea.
  • 1449
    Constantine XI Palaiologos is crowned as the last Byzantine emperor in Mystras.
  • 1458
    The despots of the Morea are forced to cede one-third of their territory to the Ottomans.
  • 1460 - 1461
    The Ottomans conquer the Despotate of the Morea.

Timeline Search

Search through the entire ancient history timeline. Specify between which dates you want to search, and what keywords you are looking for.

Remove Ads