Chandragupta Maurya Timeline

Search Results

Visual Timeline

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.


350 BCE 340 BCE 330 BCE 320 BCE 310 BCE 300 BCE 290 BCE 280 BCE 270 BCE 260 BCE 250 BCE 240 BCE 230 BCE 220 BCE 210 BCE 200 BCE 190 BCE 180 BCE  
350 BCE - 275 BCE: Life of Kautilya, Indian stateman and philosopher, chief advisor and Prime Minister of the Indian Emperor Chandragupta.
340 BCE - 298 BCE: Life of Indian Emperor Chandragupta, first ruler of the Mauryan Empire.
321 BCE - 297 BCE: Reign of Chandragupta Maurya, first ruler of the Mauryan Empire.
321 BCE: Dhana Nanda, king of Magadha, is killed by Chandragupta Maurya.
320 BCE: Chandragupta Maurya seizes the throne of Magadhan and expands the kingdom over northern and central India.
320 BCE - 180 BCE: Mauryan rule in the Gandhara region, beginning with Chandragupta Maurya.
305 BCE: Emperor Changragupta signs a treaty with Seleucos I, establishing borders and giving the Punjab to Chandragupta in return for 500 war elephants.
298 BCE: Chandragupta voluntarily abdicates the throne in favour of his son Bindusara. Jain sources say that Chandragupta turned into an ascetic and follower of Jainism, migrated south and starved himself to death.
350 BCE 330 BCE 310 BCE 290 BCE 270 BCE 250 BCE 230 BCE 210 BCE 190 BCE

Timeline Search

Search through the entire ancient history timeline. Specify between which dates you want to search, and what keywords you are looking for.

Remove Ads