Carthago Nova Timeline

Search Results

Visual Timeline

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.


300 BCE 200 BCE 100 BCE 0 CE 100 CE 200 CE 300 CE 400 CE 500 CE 600 CE 700 CE 800 CE 900 CE 1000 CE 1100 CE 1200 CE  
228 BCE: Carthago Nova founded by Carthaginian general and politician Hasdrubal the Fair.
209 BCE: Carthago Nova taken by Scipio Africanus.
209 BCE: Scipio Africanus captures the Carthaginian base and treasury Carthago Nova in southern Spain.
44 BCE: Julius Caesar makes Carthago Nova a colonia.
27 BCE - 14 CE: Emperor Augustus revitalizes Carthago Nova, lavishing funds on the city for streets and building projects.
298 CE: Emperor Diocletian makes Carthago Nova capital of the province of Hispania Carthaginensis.
409 CE: Vandals take Carthago Nova.
425 CE: Visigoths take Carthago Nova from the Vandals.
435 CE: Vandals sack Carthago Nova.
550 CE: Emperor Justinian makes Carthago Nova capital of Spania.
714 CE: Carthago Nova taken during the Muslim Invasion of the 8th century CE.
1243 CE: Carthago Nova taken by Fernando III of Castille in the Reconquista of Spain. .
300 BCE 100 BCE 100 CE 300 CE 500 CE 700 CE 900 CE 1100 CE

Timeline Search

Search through the entire ancient history timeline. Specify between which dates you want to search, and what keywords you are looking for.

Remove Ads