Amarna Period of Egypt Timeline

Search Results

Visual Timeline

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.


1360 BCE 1350 BCE 1340 BCE 1330 BCE 1320 BCE 1310 BCE 1300 BCE  
1353 BCE - 1336 BCE: Reign of Akhenaten who initiates the Amarna Period of ancient Egypt.
1348 BCE - 1320 BCE: The Amarna Period of Egypt.
1348 BCE: Akhenaten issues his religious reforms, bans traditional religious beliefs and practices.
1346 BCE: Akhenaten moves the capital of Egypt from Thebes to his new city of Akhetaten (Amarna).
1336 BCE - 1327 BCE: Reign of Tutankhamun who reverses Akhenaten's reforms and restores traditional religious practices.
1327 BCE - 1320 BCE: The vizier Ay reigns as pharaoh and continues Tutankhamun's policies.
1320 BCE - 1292 BCE: Reign of pharaoh Horemheb who erases all memory of the Amarna Period, restores Egyptian culture, and destroys the city of Akhetaten (Amarna).
1360 BCE 1350 BCE 1340 BCE 1330 BCE 1320 BCE 1310 BCE 1300 BCE

Timeline Search

Search through the entire ancient history timeline. Specify between which dates you want to search, and what keywords you are looking for.

Remove Ads