Akhenaten Timeline

Search Results

Visual Timeline

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.


1390 BCE 1380 BCE 1370 BCE 1360 BCE 1350 BCE 1340 BCE 1330 BCE 1320 BCE 1310 BCE 1300 BCE  
1386 BCE - 1295 BCE: No mention of God's Wife of Amun during the reigns of Amenhotep III, Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and Horemheb.
1370 BCE - 1336 BCE: Life of Egyptian queen Nefertiti.
1353 BCE - 1336 BCE: Reign of Akhenaten, Tutankhamun's father, `Heretic King' of Egypt.
1353 BCE: Amenhotep IV changes his name to Akhenaten, establishes the monotheistic cult of Aten, banishes other cults especially that of Amun.
1353 BCE - 1336 BCE: Ankh used in the Amarna Period of Egypt by Akhenaten, linked to the god Aten.
1353 BCE - 1336 BCE: Akhenaten builds temple to Aten at Memphis.
1353 BCE - 1336 BCE: Reign of Akhenaten who initiates the Amarna Period of ancient Egypt.
1353 BCE - 1336 BCE: Reign of "the heretic king" Akhenaten.
1353 BCE - 1336 BCE: Reign of Akhenaten whose religious reforms cripple the economy and damage international relations and trade; Egyptian Empire declines under his rule.
1350 BCE: Birth of Ankhsenamun, daughter of Akhenaten and Nefertiti, wife of Tutankhamun.
1348 BCE: Akhenaten abolishes traditional religious observances in Egypt;institutes worship of his personal god Aten.
1348 BCE: Akhenaten issues his religious reforms, bans traditional religious beliefs and practices.
1346 BCE: Akhenaten moves the capital of Egypt from Thebes to his new city of Akhetaten (Amarna).
1346 BCE: The city of Akhetaten (modern-day Amarna) is built as the new capital of Egypt by Akhenaten.
1345 BCE: Akhenaten moves capital of Egypt from Thebes to Akhetaten, his custom-built city.
1345 BCE - 1327 BCE: Life of Tutankhamun.
1336 BCE: Tutankhamun re-establishes the old religion of Egypt after the death of Akhenaten; cult of Amun resumes.
1336 BCE - 1327 BCE: Reign of Tutankhamun who reverses Akhenaten's reforms and restores traditional religious practices.
1336 BCE - 1327 BCE: Reign of pharaoh Tutankhamun who reverses Akhenaten's policies and restores traditional religion to Egypt.
1320 BCE - 1292 BCE: Reign of pharaoh Horemheb who destroys the city of Akhetaten, restores Egyptian culture, and blots Akhenaten's name from history.
1390 BCE 1380 BCE 1370 BCE 1360 BCE 1350 BCE 1340 BCE 1330 BCE 1320 BCE 1310 BCE 1300 BCE

Timeline Search

Search through the entire ancient history timeline. Specify between which dates you want to search, and what keywords you are looking for.

Remove Ads