The Histories and Other Works of Tacitus...


Book Details

Author  Tacitus
Publisher  Halcyon Press Ltd.
Publication Date   June 21, 2010
Pages  545


This Halcyon Classics ebook collection contains the five surviving works of Gaius (or Publius) Cornelius Tacitus, senator and historian of the Roman Empire. Tacitus lived 56-117 AD, but little is known for certain of his life. Tacitus was probably from the provinces, he studied rhetoric, served as a magistrate, was a Senator, and he may have commanded a legion.

He is most well-known for his HISTORIES, which covers a period of Tacitus' life including the Year of Four Emperors (69 AD) following the downfall of Nero, the rise of Vespasian, and the rule of the Flavian Dynasty (69–96) up to the death of Domitian. It was written between 100-110 AD. His other surviving works include the REIGN OF TIBERIUS, which is part of a larger work (THE ANNALS), much of which has not survived, on GERMANIA and AGRICOLA, and a DIALOGUE ON ORATORY. This collection also includes a short biography of Tacitus.

This ebook is DRM free and includes an active table of contents for easy navigation.


On the Life of Tacitus
The Life of Agricola
A Dialogue on Oratory
The Histories Volume I
The Histories Volume II
The Reign of Tiberius (from the Annals)

This unexpurgated edition contains the complete text with errors and omissions corrected.

Customer Reviews