Lives of the 12 Caesars D


Book Details

Author  C. Suetonius Tranquillus
Publisher  Naxos Audiobooks
Publication Date   June 30, 2005
ISBN  9626343397

Buy this book


Suetonius wrote his Lives of the Twelve Caesars in the reign of Vespasian around 70AD. He chronicled the extraordinary careers of Julius, Augustus, Tiberius, Caligula, Claudius, Nero, Vespasian and Domitian and the rest in technicolour terms. They presented some high and low times at the heart of the Roman Empire. The accounts provide us with perspicacious insights into the men as much as their reigns - and it was from Suetonius that subsequent writers such as Robert Graves drew so much of his material.

Customer Reviews