The Theban Plays

Book Details

Author  Sophocles
Publisher  Focus
Publication Date   December 1, 2001
ISBN  1585100374
Pages  248

Buy this book


This anthology includes English translations of three plays of Sophocles' Oidipous Cycle: Antigone, King Oidipous, and Oidipous at Colonus. The trilogy includes an introductory essay on Sophocles life, ancient theatre, and the mythic and religious background of the plays. Each of these plays is available from Focus in a single play edition. Focus Classical Library provides close translations with notes and essays to provide access to understanding Greek culture.

Customer Reviews