Documents Illustrating the Principates of Gaius...

Book Details

Author  E. Mary Smallwood
Publisher  Cambridge University Press
Publication Date   March 2, 2011
ISBN  0521152844
Pages  162

Buy this book


Originally published in 1967, this volume gathers together a broad range of documents illustrating the successive reigns of three Roman Emperors: Gaius, Claudius, and Nero. The material is divided into various chapters representing different aspects of the Empire. Within each chapter, material is ordered in a roughly chronological fashion, but there is some grouping according to subject or geographical area. Documents are presented without translation, alongside information regarding their source and, where necessary, contextual descriptions to aid the reader's understanding. This is a consummately edited book that will be of value to anyone with an interest in Classical sources and Ancient Rome.

Customer Reviews