The Four Stages of Rabbinic Judaism

Book Details

Publisher  Routledge
Publication Date   June 23, 1999
ISBN  0415195314
Pages  256

Buy this book


This concise volume provides a lucid introduction to the genesis and development of Rabbinic Judaism.
Jacob Neusner outlines and examines the four stages in which the initial period of the historical development of Rabbinic Judaism divides, beginning with the Pentateuch and ending with its definitive and normative statement in the Talmud of Babylonia. He traces the development of Rabbinic Judaism by exploring the relationships between and among the cognate writings which embody its formative history.

Customer Reviews