Babylon Timeline

Search Results

Visual Timeline

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.


2400 BCE 2300 BCE 2200 BCE 2100 BCE 2000 BCE 1900 BCE 1800 BCE 1700 BCE 1600 BCE 1500 BCE 1400 BCE 1300 BCE 1200 BCE 1100 BCE 1000 BCE 900 BCE 800 BCE 700 BCE 600 BCE 500 BCE 400 BCE 300 BCE 200 BCE 100 BCE  
2350 BCE: First code of laws by Urukagina, king of Lagash.
2000 BCE: Babylon controls Fertile Crescent.
1984 BCE: Amorite dynasty established in Babylon.
1812 BCE - 1793 BCE: Reign of Sin-Muballit, Amorite king of Babylon, father of Hammurabi.
1795 BCE - 1750 BCE: Reign of Hammurabi, king of Babylon.
1792 BCE - 1750 BCE: Reign of Hammurabi of Babylon, Ashur becomes vassal state.
1792 BCE: King Hammurabi builds walls of Babylon.
1787 BCE: Hammurabi of Babylon conquers Uruk and Isin.
1772 BCE: The Code of Hammurabi: One of the earliest codes of law in the world.
1761 BCE: Zimri-Lim, the last ruler of Mari dies for unknown reasons. His former ally, Hammurabi of Babylon, captures the city of Mari.
1760 BCE - 1757 BCE: Hammurabi of Babylon destroys the city of Mari. The people of Mari are spared according to Hammurabi.
1755 BCE: Hammurabi rules the whole of Mesopotamia from Babylon.
1700 BCE: The Code of Hammurabi, with laws regulating beer, written at Babylon.
1595 BCE - 1155 BCE: Kassite Dynasty rules over Babylonia.
1595 BCE: Hittites under Mursilli I sack Babylon, ending Amorite rule.
1595 BCE: King Mursilis of the Hittites sacks Babylon. Begin of Babylonian "dark ages."
1225 BCE: Tukulti-Ninurta I sacks Babylon.
1225 BCE: Tukulti-Ninurta I marches on Babylon and sacks it, temples plundered.
1220 BCE: Babylon is under Assyrian control.
853 BCE: Babylonian kings depend on Assyrian military support.
750 BCE: Sophisticated networks of aqueducts are constructed at Babylon.
734 BCE: Babylon is captured by Chaldeans.
729 BCE: Tiglath Pileser III reigns at height as King of Babylon and Assyria.
729 BCE: Babylon is occupied by Assyrians.
729 BCE: Intervention in Babylonian Civil War. Tiglath Pileser III crowns himself king of Babylon.
718 BCE: Sargon II defeated at Babylon by Elamites.
710 BCE: Sargon II conquers Babylon and the southern territories.
710 BCE - 707 BCE: Sargon II resides at Babylon, rules Assyria from Babylonian court.
706 BCE: Sargon II returns from Babylon and moves into palace in Dur-Sharrukin.
698 BCE - 694 BCE: War with Elam and Babylon.
689 BCE: Sack of Babylon, city is destroyed.
680 BCE: Esarhaddon decrees restoration of Babylon.
653 BCE - 648 BCE: Babylon rebels, Siege of Babylon.
647 BCE - 648 BCE: Fall of Babylon the Ashurbanipal.
612 BCE: Nineveh is sacked and burned by combined forces of Babylonians and Medes.
605 BCE - 549 BCE: Babylon rules over the Assyrian regions.
605 BCE - 562 BCE: Nebuchadnezzar II is king of Babylon.
601 BCE: Nebuchadnezzar II of Babylon unsuccessfully attempts to invade Egypt.
597 BCE: Babylonian king Nebuchadnezar captures Jerusalem.
597 BCE - 587 BCE: Jews are deported to Babylonia.
587 BCE - 539 BCE: Jewish exile in Babylonia. Babylonian Talmud is written.
585 BCE - 572 BCE: Nebuchadnezzar II of Babylon besieges Tyre, unsuccessfully.
575 BCE: Nebuchadnezzar II builds the Ishtar Gate and great walls of Babylon.
539 BCE: Cyrus the Great conquers Babylon; the Fertile Crescent is controlled by the Achaemenid Empire (The First Persian Empire).
539 BCE: Fall of Babylon, conquered by Cyrus of Persia. Return of the Jews.
485 BCE: Babylon is destroyed by Xerxes, King of Persia.
323 BCE: Alexander the Great receives Celtic delegations in Babylon.
321 BCE - 315 BCE: Seleucos rules the satrapy of Babylon.
312 BCE: Seleucos conquers Babylon and founds the Seleucid dynasty.
304 BCE - 64 BCE: Rule of the Seleucids in Mesopotamia.
2400 BCE 2000 BCE 1600 BCE 1200 BCE 800 BCE 400 BCE

Timeline Search

Search through the entire ancient history timeline. Specify between which dates you want to search, and what keywords you are looking for.

Remove Ads