Punic Wars Timeline

Search Results

Visual Timeline

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.


270 BCE 260 BCE 250 BCE 240 BCE 230 BCE 220 BCE 210 BCE 200 BCE 190 BCE 180 BCE 170 BCE 160 BCE 150 BCE  
264 BCE - 241 BCE: First Punic War. Carthage cedes Sicily to Rome.
263 BCE: Antaros and 3000 Celts fight with Carthage in the First Punic War.
260 BCE: First Roman naval victory against Carthage off Mylae.
256 BCE: Roman naval victory against Carthage off Ecnomus.
255 BCE - 253 BCE: Roman fleets are wrecked by storms off Pachynus and Palinurus.
249 BCE: A Roman fleet is defeated by the Carthaginians at Drepna.
249 BCE: Antaros withdraws his support from Carthage.
249 BCE: Carthage defeats Rome in naval battle at Drepanum.
241 BCE: Roman naval victory off the Aegates Islands leads to victory over Carthage, ending the First Punic War.
241 BCE: End of First Punic War.
218 BCE: Battle of Trebia.
218 BCE: Battle of Ticinus.
218 BCE - 202 BCE: Second Punic War.
217 BCE: Battle of Lake Trasimene.
216 BCE: Hannibal defeats the Romans at the Battle of Cannae.
216 BCE: Battle of Cannae. Worst defeat in Roman history, against Carthage.
216 BCE: "Hannibal ante portas." Hannibal directly threatens the city of Rome, but cannot advance due to lack of supplies and reinforcements.
207 BCE: Battle of Metaurus.
207 BCE: Battle of Metaurus. Carthage loses against Rome and loses control of Iberia (Spain).
204 BCE: Scipio Africanus sails over to Africa.
202 BCE: Battle of Zama.
202 BCE: Battle of Zama. The Carthaginian army is defeated, Hannibal flees to Hadrumentum.
149 BCE - 146 BCE: Third Punic War.
270 BCE 250 BCE 230 BCE 210 BCE 190 BCE 170 BCE

Timeline Search

Search through the entire ancient history timeline. Specify between which dates you want to search, and what keywords you are looking for.

Remove Ads