Visual Timeline: Greek Government

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.


700 BCE 600 BCE 500 BCE 400 BCE 300 BCE 200 BCE 100 BCE 0 CE 100 CE 200 CE 300 CE  
683 BCE - 682 BCE: List of annual archons at Athens begins.
660 BCE: Pheidon is tyrant in Argos.
657 BCE - 585 BCE: The Kypselidai are tyrants of Corinth.
624 BCE: Drakon codifies Athenian law.
594 BCE - 593 BCE: In Athens the archon Solon lays the foundations for democracy.
585 BCE: An oligarchy of 80 takes power at Corinth.
570 BCE - 549 BCE: The tyrant Phalaris rules Agrigento, expanding its territory.
560 BCE: Pisistratos becomes tyrant in Athens for the first time.
530 BCE - 522 BCE: Polykrates is tyrant at Samos.
514 BCE: Fall of the Peisistratid tyranny in Athens.
514 BCE: The tyrant of Athens Hipparchos is killed by Harmodios and Aristogeiton - the 'tyrannicides'.
508 BCE: Reforms by Cleisthenes establishes democracy in Athens.
489 BCE - 473 BCE: The tyrant Theron rules Agrigento.
487 BCE - 486 BCE: Archons begin to be appointed by lot in Athens.
462 BCE - 458 BCE: Pericles introduces democratic institutions in Athens.
462 BCE - 461 BCE: Radicalisation of democracy in Athens; Cimon exiled, Pericles comes to exercise influence.
461 BCE: Pericles leads the democratic party and ostracizes Cimon.
460 BCE - 320 CE: Period of full and direct citizen democracy in Athens.
447 BCE - 386 BCE: The Boeotian federation has a minimum property requirement for participation in the democratic assembly.
411 BCE: The oligarchy of the 400 take over the democracy in Athens and in a matter of months is replaced by an oligarchy of 5000.
405 BCE: Dionysius becomes tyrant in Syracuse, Sicily.
404 BCE: End of the Peloponnesian war, Athens defeated By Sparta at Aigospotamoi, Rule of the Thirty Tyrants in Athens.
403 BCE: Restoration of the democracy in Athens, death of the tyrant Critias.
367 BCE: Dionysius II becomes tyrant of Syracuse, Sicily.
700 BCE 500 BCE 300 BCE 100 BCE 100 CE